Welcome
Saltcellar Folk Club, Totterdown, Bristol
First Saturday of Every Month, 7.30pm
Welcome

The Saltcellar Folk Club is based in Totterdown, Bristol.

Folk music evenings usually take place at 7.30pm on the first Saturday of each month in the basement (or salt cellar) of Totterdown Baptist Church on Wells Road, Bristol, BS4 2AX. All are welcome to come along. Admission is usually £5 on the door.

The club invites good quality folk and acoustic acts from Bristol and the surrounding counties to headline each month. In addition, each evening includes local floor singers and musicians.  Floor acts should make themselves known on arrival to have the opportunity to perform in front of our friendly audience.

Coming Up at the Saltcellar Folk Club

August:
No Folk Club 


September 6th: Mike Scott - 
www.mikedanverscott.co.uk
Wry and witty reflections from this well-known local singer/songwriter

October 4th: Lazibyrd
 - lazibyrd.bandcamp.com/
Somerset duo combine voices, guitar, violin, viola and ukulele on well crafted original songs with excellent musicianship

November 1st: Freshly Ground - 
www.issyemeney.co.uk/Issy/Freshly_Ground.html
The welcome return of a choir of some of the South West’s best known folk singers

December 6th: Jim Reynolds - 
jimreynoldsmusic.co.uk
Legendary songwriter, guitarist & singer of blues, ragtime and old fashioned ballads

Keep up to date via our 
Facebook page

About the Venue
The Saltcellar is in the basement of Totterdown Baptist Church.  The entrance is on Cemetery Road, off Wells Road and access is down a flight of stairs. We have a coffee bar selling hot drinks and homemade cakes.  The venue does not have a licence to sell alcohol, but you are welcome to bring your own drinks.  Bottle openers and glasses are provided.  The Co-op just a few doors downhill has a range of wine, beer and cider.


Previous Saltcellar Guests:
Alan Kirkpatrick & John Shaw -  www.alankirkpatrickjohnshawfolk.co.uk
Appalachia - www.appalachiamusic.co.uk/
Chameleon
 - Facebook Page
Corncrow - http://www.myspace.com/corncrow
Dark Island - darkislandmusic.co.uk 
Freshly Ground - www.issyemeney.co.uk/Issy/Freshly_Ground.html
Graham & Sandy Ball
Issy & David Emeney - http://www.issyemeney.co.uk
Jan Vaisey & Ian Harvey - YouTube Clip
Jeff & Elaine Gillett www.youtube.com/user/JandEGillett
Jim Tigwell - www.guitartuitionbristol.org/
John Blake - YouTube Clip
Johnny Coppin -  www.johnnycoppin.co.uk
Karen Tweed -  www.karentweed.com
Kate Lissauer - www.katelissauer.com/
Keith Judson - www.keithjudson.co.uk/ 
Pete Coe - www.backshift.demon.co.uk
Pete Kiddle - petekiddle.com
Reg Meuross -  www.regmeuross.com/
Sara Grey
 - www.saragrey.net
Sarah Jones - www.sarahjones.org.uk/
Sarah McQuaid -  www.sarahmcquaid.com
Si Barron - barronbrady.com/bb/biog.html
Steve Turner - www.steve-turner.co.uk
Sue Franklin & Tim Brine -  YouTube_Clip
The Raven (Caz Forbes & Ste Moncrieff) - www.forbesmoncrieff.co.uk
The Yirdbards - www.yirdbards.com

Floor Performers at the Saltcellar have included:
David Cheffings - Dursley Acoustic Music Night
Douglas Hamilton - douglashamilton.bandcamp.com
Ed Hanfrey - www.reverbnation.com/edhanfrey
James Slater
Jess Vincent - www.jessvincentmusic.co.uk/
Jinski
 - www.jinski.com
Laurie & Karen Burn - www.laurieguitars.co.uk 
Pete Stearn
Ray Croll - www.raycroll.co.uk
Robin Tulloch
The Coarse Envelope - www.thecoarseenvelope.com/
Tony Coll
...and quite a few of the performers who have been guest acts are regular floor singers and musicians

Other Local Folk and Acoustic Music Links


Johnny Coppin BBC local radio folk and acoustic music programme

Saturday at 5.30pm on Radio Gloucestershire and via "listen again" on the web: (www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p001d7z8)

Bristol (Centre): Nova Scotia Folk Club
Every Monday night, the Nova Scotia Inn, Cumberland Basin, Bristol BS1 6XL (www.theacousticroom.co.uk/)

Bristol (North): Downend Folk Club
Aims to bring high-quality live folk, roots and acoustic music to the Downend area. (www.downendfolkclub.co.uk/)

Bristol (North): Dragon Folk Club
Meets for a singers night every Friday at The Bridge Inn, Shortwood, Bristol. BS16 9NG (http://dragonfolkclub.blogspot.co.uk/)

Bristol (North): Folk Around Fishponds
2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month at the Cross Hands, 1 Staple Hill, Fishponds, Bristol. BS16 5AA (www.faf.moonfruit.co.uk/)

Bath: Bath Acoustic Music Club
First Wednesday of each month, St James Wine Vaults, St James Sq., BA1 2TW (www.bathacoustic.co.uk/)

Gloucestershire: Dursley Acoustic Music Nights
Third Sunday of each month, 13, Five Acres, Dursley, GL11 4JP (www.dursleyamn.org.uk)

Gloucestershire: Forest Folk Club, Forest of Dean
First & third Sunday of each month, The Miners Arms Whitecroft, Lydney, Glos. GL15 4PE (www.forestfolkclub.com)

North Somerset: Nailsea Folk Club
Second Tuesday of Each Month, singers/musicians night, Grove Sports Centre. Also Concert Nights (Tithe Barn or Ring o’ Bells). (www.nailseafolkclub.co.uk)

Wiltshire: Devizes Folk Club
Every Monday, Lamb Inn, 20 St John's St, Devizes, Wilts SN10 1BT (www.devizesfolkclub.co.uk)

Songs From The Caravan

Site with songs collected from different areas of Britain, with many local performers (www.songsfromthecaravan.org)

Folk Clubs in the Mid West of England (& South East Wales)
From Mr Red, compiler of folk venue lists for the counties around Gloucestershire (www.users.waitrose.com/~cresby/fcc.htm)




 



Saltcellar Folk Club, Basement of Totterdown Baptist Church, Wells Road, BRISTOL, BS4 2AX