Welcome
Saltcellar Folk Club, Totterdown, Bristol
First Saturday of Every Month, 7.30pm
Welcome

The Saltcellar Folk Club is based in Totterdown, Bristol.

Folk music evenings usually take place at 7.30pm on the first Saturday of each month in the basement (or salt cellar) of Totterdown Baptist Church on Wells Road, Bristol, BS4 2AX. All are welcome to come along. Admission is usually £5 on the door, but just £3 for floorsingers.  Singarounds are just £1 entry.

The club invites good quality folk and acoustic acts from Bristol and the surrounding counties as well as national and international acts, to headline each month. In addition, each evening includes local floor singers and musicians.  Floor acts should make themselves known on arrival to have the opportunity to perform in front of our friendly audience. E-mail
Laurie for further information.

Coming Up in 2016 at the Saltcellar Folk Club


3rd Sep: Jez Lowe
Nominated for best singer and for best song at the 2015 BBC Folk Awards. www.jezlowe.com

1st Oct: Double Bill: Simon Boulter and JaCoB (Pete Stearn and Mike Curtis)
Regular Saltcellar floor performers each play a set.

12th Nov: Tim Brine & Sue Franklin
A return of this popular duo who play guitar, mandolin and recorder to accompany their excellent vocals.

3rd Dec: Mike Scott
Another popular Saltcellar performer whose wry and witty reflections are hugely enjoyed at local folk clubs and festivals.

Keep up to date via our Facebook page

About the Venue
The Saltcellar is in the basement of Totterdown Baptist Church, which has legendary acoustics.  The entrance is on Cemetery Road, off Wells Road and access is down a flight of stairs. We have a coffee bar selling hot drinks and homemade cakes.  The venue does not have a licence to sell alcohol, but you are welcome to bring your own drinks.  Bottle openers and glasses are provided.  The Co-op just a few doors downhill has a range of wine, beer and cider.

Announcing our 2017 Programme

7 Jan    New Year Singaround

4 Feb    Mike Silver  www.mikesilver.co.uk
Songs of experience and observation combine with an easy rapport and a fund of stories

4 Mar   Ninebarrow  www.ninebarrow.co.uk
The award-winning duo are in great demand. Beautiful harmonies and engaging performance.

1 Apr
   Si Barron  
www.sibarron.eu
Popular interpreter of traditional and contemporary folk songs accompanied by stunning guitar playing.

6 May
  Ewan McLennan  
www.ewanmclennan.co.uk
A troubadour, balladeer and storyteller cut in the old style. Songs of passion and pathos.

3 Jun    Dan McKinnon www.danmckinnon.ca
Return visit of the warm-hearted, warm-voiced Canadian singer-songwriter.      

1 Jul     Summer Singaround  Open Stage Night.  Only £1.

3 Sep    Jim Reynolds & Hilary Pavey + Jan Vaisey & Ian Harvey
A double bill of popular local performers.

7 Oct    Askew Sisters  www.askewsisters.co.uk
Award-winning duo who accompany their songs on fiddle, melodeon and concertina.

11 Nov  Jim Causley  www.jimcausley.co.uk
Songs from his native West Country combine with a relaxed and playful stage presence.

2 Dec
  Georgia Lewis and Friends 
www.georgialewis.co.uk
Young, exuberant and musically versatile trio. A welcome return to the Saltcellar.


Previous Saltcellar Guests:
Ange Hardy - www.angehardy.com
Alan Kirkpatrick & John Shaw
 - 
 www.alankirkpatrickjohnshawfolk.co.uk
Appalachia - www.appalachiamusic.co.uk/
Barron Brady
- www.barronbrady.com
Brian Peterswww.brian-peters.co.uk
Chameleon
 - Facebook Page
Corncrow - http://www.myspace.com/corncrow
Dan McKinnon - www.danmckinnon.ca 
Dana & Susan Robinsonwww.robinsongs.com
Dark Island
 - darkislandmusic.co.uk
 
Dave Griffiths (Jimbo & Griff) - www.mandolinexpress.co.uk/
David Cheffings - Dursley Acoustic Music Night
Freshly Ground - www.issyemeney.co.uk/Issy/Freshly_Ground.html
Georgia Lewis and Friends - www.Georgialewis.co.uk
Graham & Sandy Ball
Issy & David Emeney - http://www.issyemeney.co.uk
Jan Vaisey & Ian Harvey - YouTube Clip & Facebook pages (Jan and Ian)
Jeff & Elaine Gillett www.youtube.com/user/JandEGillett
Jim Reynolds (Jimbo & Griff) - jimreynoldsmusic.co.uk
Jim Tigwell
 - 
www.guitartuitionbristol.org/
John Blake - YouTube Clip
Johnny Coppin -  www.johnnycoppin.co.uk
Karen Tweed -  www.karentweed.com
Kate Lissauer - www.katelissauer.com/
Keith Judson - www.keithjudson.co.uk/ 
Laurie & Karen Burn - www.laurieguitars.co.uk 
Lazibyrd - lazibyrd.bandcamp.com/ 
Mike Scott - www.mikedanverscott.co.uk/ 
Mischief Afoot - www.mischiefafoot.co.uk
Pauline Sellars & Stuart Pitt 
- Facebook pages Pauline & Stuart 
Pete Coe - 
www.backshift.demon.co.uk
Pete Kiddle - petekiddle.com
Reg Meuross -  www.regmeuross.com/
Sara Grey
 - www.saragrey.net
Sarah Jones - www.sarahjones.org.uk/
Sarah McQuaid -  www.sarahmcquaid.com
Si Barron - barronbrady.com/bb/biog.html
Sisters H (Hilary Pavey & Helen Bonner) http://hilarypavey.co.uk/sisters-h/
Steve Turner - 
www.steve-turner.co.uk
Sue Franklin & Tim Brine - YouTube Clip 
The Raven (Caz Forbes & Ste Moncrieff) - www.forbesmoncrieff.co.uk
The Yirdbards - www.yirdbards.com
Thornbridge Triosee YouTube clips One & Two

Floor Performers at the Saltcellar have included:
Bard of Windmill Hill - www.windmillhillbard.co.uk
Douglas Hamilton
 - 
douglashamilton.bandcamp.com
Ed Hanfrey - www.reverbnation.com/edhanfrey
James Slater - Facebook page
Jess Vincent - www.jessvincentmusic.co.uk/
Jinski
 - www.jinski.com
Pete Stearn
Ray Croll - www.raycroll.co.uk
Robin Tulloch - Facebook page
Saskia Griffiths-Moore - www.saskiagm.com
Simon Boulter
Talis Kimberley
 - www.talis.net/

The Coarse Envelope - www.thecoarseenvelope.com/
Tony Coll - Facebook page
...and quite a few of the performers who have been guest acts are regular floor singers and musicians

Other Local Folk and Acoustic Music Links


Johnny Coppin BBC local radio folk and acoustic music programme

Saturday at 5.30pm on Radio Gloucestershire and via "listen again" on the web: (www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p001d7z8)

Bristol (Centre): Nova Scotia Folk Club
Every Monday night, the Nova Scotia Inn, Cumberland Basin, Bristol BS1 6XL (www.theacousticroom.co.uk/)

Bristol (North): Downend Folk Club
Aims to bring high-quality live folk, roots and acoustic music to the Downend area. (www.downendfolkclub.co.uk/)

Bristol (North): Dragon Folk Club
Meets for a singers night every Friday at The Bridge Inn, Shortwood, Bristol. BS16 9NG (http://dragonfolkclub.blogspot.co.uk/)

Bristol (North): Folk Around Fishponds
2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month at the Cross Hands, 1 Staple Hill, Fishponds, Bristol. BS16 5AA (www.faf.moonfruit.co.uk/)

Bath: Bath Acoustic Music Club
First Wednesday of each month, St James Wine Vaults, St James Sq., BA1 2TW (www.bathacoustic.co.uk/)

Gloucestershire: Dursley Acoustic Music Nights
Third Sunday of each month, 13, Five Acres, Dursley, GL11 4JP (www.dursleyamn.org.uk)

Gloucestershire: Forest Folk Club, Forest of Dean
First & third Sunday of each month, The Miners Arms Whitecroft, Lydney, Glos. GL15 4PE (www.forestfolkclub.com)

North Somerset: Nailsea Folk Club
Second Tuesday of Each Month, singers/musicians night, Grove Sports Centre. Also Concert Nights (Tithe Barn or Ring o’ Bells). (www.nailseafolkclub.co.uk)

South Wales: Newport Folk Club
Every Thursday, Newport Fugitives Athletic Club, High Cross Road, Rogerstone, NP10 9AD (www.newportfolkclub.co.uk)

Wiltshire: Devizes Folk Club
Every Monday, Lamb Inn, 20 St John's St, Devizes, Wilts SN10 1BT (www.devizesfolkclub.co.uk)

Songs From The Caravan

Site with songs collected from different areas of Britain, with many local performers (www.songsfromthecaravan.org)

Folk Clubs in the Mid West of England (& South East Wales)
From Mr Red, compiler of folk venue lists for the counties around Gloucestershire (http://mister.red)





 



Saltcellar Folk Club, Basement of Totterdown Baptist Church, Wells Road, BRISTOL, BS4 2AX