Saltcellar Folk Club, Totterdown, Bristol
First Saturday of Every Month, 7.30pm

The Saltcellar Folk Club is based in Totterdown, Bristol.

Folk music evenings usually take place at 7.30pm on the first Saturday of each month in the basement (or salt cellar) of Totterdown Baptist Church on Wells Road, Bristol, BS4 2AX. All are welcome to come along. Admission is usually £5 on the door.

The club invites good quality folk and acoustic acts from Bristol and the surrounding counties to headline each month. In addition, each evening includes local floor singers and musicians.  Floor acts should make themselves known on arrival to have the opportunity to perform in front of our friendly audience. E-mail
Laurie for further information.

Coming Up at the Saltcellar Folk Club

November 7th: Sarah McQuaid - www.sarahmcquaid.com
Sarah is a captivating performer, her voice has been likened to malt whiskey, melted chocolate and “honey poured into wine”, while in her hands, the guitar becomes much more than merely an accompanying instrument.

December 5th: Brian Peters - www.brian-peters.co.uk
Brian is a passionate folk singer able to tackle big songs and a multi-instrumentalist who is one of England’s leading exponents of the anglo concertina and melodeon (button accordion) and a skilled guitarist as well.

We have also already prepared a full programme for 2016:

2nd Jan: Singaround
6th Feb: Jim Reynolds & Dave Griffiths
5th Mar: Mischief Afoot (Jeff Gillett, Becky Dellow & John Davis)
2nd Apr: Barron Brady (Si Barron & Ros Brady)
7th May: Johnny Coppin
4th Jun: Ange Hardy
2nd Jul: Singaround
3rd Sep: Jez Lowe
1st Oct: Double Bill: Simon Boulter and JaCoB (Pete Stern and Mike Curtis)
12th Nov: Tim Brine & Sue Franklin
3rd Dec: Mike Scott

Keep up to date via our Facebook page

About the Venue
The Saltcellar is in the basement of Totterdown Baptist Church.  The entrance is on Cemetery Road, off Wells Road and access is down a flight of stairs. We have a coffee bar selling hot drinks and homemade cakes.  The venue does not have a licence to sell alcohol, but you are welcome to bring your own drinks.  Bottle openers and glasses are provided.  The Co-op just a few doors downhill has a range of wine, beer and cider.

Previous Saltcellar Guests:
Alan Kirkpatrick & John Shaw -  www.alankirkpatrickjohnshawfolk.co.uk
Appalachia - www.appalachiamusic.co.uk/
Barron Brady
- www.barronbrady.com
 - Facebook Page
Corncrow - http://www.myspace.com/corncrow
Dan McKinnon - www.danmckinnon.ca 
Dana & Susan Robinsonwww.robinsongs.com
Dark Island
 - darkislandmusic.co.uk
Dave Griffiths (Jimbo & Griff) - www.mandolinexpress.co.uk/
David Cheffings - Dursley Acoustic Music Night
Freshly Ground - www.issyemeney.co.uk/Issy/Freshly_Ground.html
Georgia Lewis and Friends - www.Georgialewis.co.uk
Graham & Sandy Ball
Issy & David Emeney - http://www.issyemeney.co.uk
Jan Vaisey & Ian Harvey - YouTube Clip & Facebook pages (Jan and Ian)
Jeff & Elaine Gillett www.youtube.com/user/JandEGillett
Jim Reynolds (Jimbo & Griff) - jimreynoldsmusic.co.uk
Jim Tigwell
John Blake - YouTube Clip
Johnny Coppin -  www.johnnycoppin.co.uk
Karen Tweed -  www.karentweed.com
Kate Lissauer - www.katelissauer.com/
Keith Judson - www.keithjudson.co.uk/ 
Laurie & Karen Burn - www.laurieguitars.co.uk 
Lazibyrd - lazibyrd.bandcamp.com/ 
Mike Scott - www.mikedanverscott.co.uk/ 
Pauline Sellars & Stuart Pitt - Facebook pages Pauline & Stuart 
Pete Coe - 
Pete Kiddle - petekiddle.com
Reg Meuross -  www.regmeuross.com/
Sara Grey
 - www.saragrey.net
Sarah Jones - www.sarahjones.org.uk/
Sarah McQuaid -  www.sarahmcquaid.com
Si Barron - barronbrady.com/bb/biog.html
Sisters H (Hilary Pavey & Helen Bonner) http://hilarypavey.co.uk/sisters-h/
Steve Turner - 
Sue Franklin & Tim Brine - YouTube Clip 
The Raven (Caz Forbes & Ste Moncrieff) - www.forbesmoncrieff.co.uk
The Yirdbards - www.yirdbards.com
Thornbridge Triosee YouTube clips One & Two

Floor Performers at the Saltcellar have included:
Douglas Hamilton - douglashamilton.bandcamp.com
Ed Hanfrey - www.reverbnation.com/edhanfrey
James Slater - Facebook page
Jess Vincent - www.jessvincentmusic.co.uk/
 - www.jinski.com
Pete Stearn
Ray Croll - www.raycroll.co.uk
Robin Tulloch - Facebook page
Talis Kimberley - www.talis.net/
The Coarse Envelope - www.thecoarseenvelope.com/
Tony Coll - Facebook page
...and quite a few of the performers who have been guest acts are regular floor singers and musicians

Other Local Folk and Acoustic Music Links

Johnny Coppin BBC local radio folk and acoustic music programme

Saturday at 5.30pm on Radio Gloucestershire and via "listen again" on the web: (www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p001d7z8)

Bristol (Centre): Nova Scotia Folk Club
Every Monday night, the Nova Scotia Inn, Cumberland Basin, Bristol BS1 6XL (www.theacousticroom.co.uk/)

Bristol (North): Downend Folk Club
Aims to bring high-quality live folk, roots and acoustic music to the Downend area. (www.downendfolkclub.co.uk/)

Bristol (North): Dragon Folk Club
Meets for a singers night every Friday at The Bridge Inn, Shortwood, Bristol. BS16 9NG (http://dragonfolkclub.blogspot.co.uk/)

Bristol (North): Folk Around Fishponds
2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month at the Cross Hands, 1 Staple Hill, Fishponds, Bristol. BS16 5AA (www.faf.moonfruit.co.uk/)

Bath: Bath Acoustic Music Club
First Wednesday of each month, St James Wine Vaults, St James Sq., BA1 2TW (www.bathacoustic.co.uk/)

Gloucestershire: Dursley Acoustic Music Nights
Third Sunday of each month, 13, Five Acres, Dursley, GL11 4JP (www.dursleyamn.org.uk)

Gloucestershire: Forest Folk Club, Forest of Dean
First & third Sunday of each month, The Miners Arms Whitecroft, Lydney, Glos. GL15 4PE (www.forestfolkclub.com)

North Somerset: Nailsea Folk Club
Second Tuesday of Each Month, singers/musicians night, Grove Sports Centre. Also Concert Nights (Tithe Barn or Ring o’ Bells). (www.nailseafolkclub.co.uk)

South Wales: Newport Folk Club
Every Thursday, Newport Fugitives Athletic Club, High Cross Road, Rogerstone, NP10 9AD (www.newportfolkclub.co.uk)

Wiltshire: Devizes Folk Club
Every Monday, Lamb Inn, 20 St John's St, Devizes, Wilts SN10 1BT (www.devizesfolkclub.co.uk)

Songs From The Caravan

Site with songs collected from different areas of Britain, with many local performers (www.songsfromthecaravan.org)

Folk Clubs in the Mid West of England (& South East Wales)
From Mr Red, compiler of folk venue lists for the counties around Gloucestershire (www.users.waitrose.com/~cresby/fcc.htm)


Saltcellar Folk Club, Basement of Totterdown Baptist Church, Wells Road, BRISTOL, BS4 2AX